Tags

, , , ,

February into March

February into March

For the very first time I tried on my February Lady Sweater today.  I am beyond happy with the fit!  The very last thing I wanted, and why I hesitated so incredibly long to commit to knitting it was the fact that the very history of the February Lady Sweater is completely against it.  Elizabeth Zimmerman was beyond a doubt, a knitting genius, and she came up with delightful patterns that have stood the test of time.  But to resize a baby sweater that is shaped for the roly poly body of an infant up to a grown woman, well, I had my doubts.  But having seen Sugar Sticks version, a sudden ray of hope fell into my dark world of doubt.  So I did it. And I love it.

image

Can you see the pattern clearly?  One of the first patterns I loaded into my queue on Ravelry was the Pine Forest Baby Blanket (ravelry link) and low and behold, it too uses Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Gull Lace stitch too.

image

As far as reading, it is ‘Season’ down here on the Rock and that means travelers from all corners of the globe are descending on our 3×4 mile island.  So the other day I waltzed into the library and sitting on the free shelf was this delightful book.  I’d never read it Wigs on the Green, but! it is from WHSmith so it had to come home with me.  It’s been an entertaining read like all Nancy Mitford‘s works, and is a complete satire of British Fascism between the World Wars.  Reading this book has fired a desire in me for a nice little rabbit trail through the lives of the Mitford Sisters and other Bright Young Things.  Fascinating.

