Tags

, , , ,

~Pretty~

Amaryllis

Amaryllis in the evening

My amaryllis made a surprise return just in time for Easter.  It was so pretty glowing in the evening light that it made me quite happy.

~Happy~

Letters to people in the service

Letters to people in the service

I got 4 super nice, long and chatty letters mailed out to people in the service.  Can’t say soldiers in the sandbox anymore like on my sidebar, I pulled a Navy guy on a ship that just pulled into Japan after the whole earthquake/tsunami/nuclear issues.  (That reminds me, I need to rework that sidebar list…) and speaking of the military, would you like to hear something funny?

~Funny~

Civil Air Patrol

Civil Air Patrol

This is only funny is you actually know me.  I am now a member of the Civil Air Patrol and as such I’ll have the distinct pleasure of wearing a uniform.

Uniform

Uniform

Now that all my blood relatives have wiped the tears from their eyes and caught their breaths again maybe I can explain.  I haven’t worn anything resembling a uniform since I left Saint Pius the X in the 4th grade unless you count the bikini plus sundress that I live in in the summer and I’m the most un-military girl you’ve seen in your entire life.  I admire and will do most anything to support our troops (see above letters) but I tend to also be the most confused girl regarding military stuff that you’ve ever seen.  Years and years ago I decided that ‘Sir’ or ‘Ma’am’ works perfectly well for any person that I’d ever come across in military duds and for 16 years it has.  Now I have to actually figure out how to read a uniform.  Wow.  And my uniform involves hose. Can you believe it?

~Real~

Keeping it Real

Keeping it Real

Can you read that sign I found on my door? Would you like a closer view?

Dengue

Dengue

The Florida Keys happen to be the only location in the United States that has Dengue Fever.  It reappeared in Key West last summer after a 65 year absence.  More info available at the very nice Mosquito Control website including scary maps if you happen to know Key West at all.

