Tags

, , ,

Hall to Bedrooms

Hall to Bedrooms

It’s Spring Break!

We all have big plans involving mostly beaches, bikinis and boats (paddleboards actually, Marianna got to take one out the other day and LOVED it) but first up is a bit of deep, deep cleaning.

She’s completely emptied her room, sorted through every stitch of clothing she owns, made a list of necessary items to shop for and filled our trashcan to the brim.  Good thing the trashmen come tomorrow morning early!

Landing

Landing

Hal is working the floors, scrubbing the tile down to nothing with a scrubby pad then shining them up with a new coat of shiny-ness.  I feel sorta bad posting this picture since he hasn’t approached the wood floors yet but I was pondering how in the world we’re going to make them shine again since they never did in the first place.  I’d love to tackle these stairs while he’s at work one day but I have a great fear of doing something that will result in a much bigger project for him than if I just left it all alone.  I will probably go and stand in the floor care aisle at Home Depot and walk out, completely overwhelmed, with classic Murphy’s Oil Soap in hand again.

Sink

Sink

Today I tackled the bathroom.  See all those little pink tiles on the floor?  I scrubbed the beejeezus outta them with a nice big classic hand brush and Comet.  Now there is no coating left except in the middle of each square.  I wonder what in the heck the Navy put on these floors in the first place???  This room looks like varnish on a picnic table as it peels up.  Same sunburnt peeling skin color too.  Gross.  Now the groat  is white again though.

If I turned around and showed you the now sparkling tub, you’d be suitably impressed but I forgot to take a photo.  Marianna and I were starving by now and sat down to grilled steelhead on fennel rolls while watching The Guardian.  She’s looking for new cadences for NJROTC but determined none of those, hilarious though they were, would work for Navy kids.  The hunt will continue for clean cadences this Spring Break.

Are you on Spring Break?  Any big plans?

