Tags

, ,

Ginny at Small Things is hosting a Yarn Along each week.  Since I’m in one of my knitting phases right now, I thought I’d join in the fun.

Song for Summer

Song for Summer

Slow but steady progress has been made on the itty bitty sweater.  Slower progress because the weather has finally gone back to being proper Florida Keys weather and every spare moment has been spent outside in bikinis on beaches.  Just in time too, Marianna begins her Life Guard Course tonight.  She was NOT looking forward to it when the temps were plunging to the 50’s at night but now that they’re staying where they belong (70’s at night) her enthusiasm level is back on high.

To continue with the summer-like theme today, I have been reading the best book I’ve read in a very long time.  A Song for Summer by Eva Ibbotson is a beautifully written story featuring a girl interested in all my favorite things, homekeeping, cooking, and nature.  She takes the position of matron in a progressive co-educational school featuring Dance, Music and Drama and a shadowy (so far) figure by the name of Dr Stiener.  Set in Austria right before Hitler gets  too alarming, the descriptions of the Austrian alpine country and little villages filled with charming salt of the earth sort of people contrast nicely with the old moneyed aristocracy and musical geniuses of London and Vienna.

Basically, A Song for Summer is my first  perfect beach read of 2011.

I found this interesting article written by Eva Ibbotson in defense of libraries if you’d like a taste of her writings.

