Tags

, , , , , , ,

Ginny at Small Things is hosting a Yarn Along each week.  Since I’m in one of my knitting phases right now, I thought I’d join in the fun.

Orchids and Candy Cap

Sweet as Candy Cap

The word went out at Sunday night potluck in our marina that a friend’s baby had arrived early.  Immediately, we ladies put our heads together and decided a baby shower in a box was called for.  No time to order fancy baby yarns, I had to use what I had.  So I cast on in cotton and knit the cutest, ruffliest baby cap yet!  If you check out yesterday’s post you can see just how it received its name, The Candy Cap, it matches my preferred Valentine candy perfectly!

I have plenty of yarn left so I’m thinking I may have to find a baby bootie pattern too.  Any recommendations for ruffly booties?

Pumpkin Pie Granola

Pumpkin Pie Granola

All that knitting yesterday was fueled by candy hearts, today I’m thinking slightly healthier food is in order to nosh on while checking out the Yarn Along!  So I made Pumpkin Pie Granola, I wish you could smell the house right now.  It hasn’t smelled this fabulous since Christmas time!

Pumpkin Pie Granola

5 cups rolled oats,  1/4 cup sesame seeds, handful of nuts

3/4 cup pumpkin pie filling,  2 Tbsp oil

2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1 tsp sea salt

1/4 cup each golden syrup, maple syrup, and honey

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 cups golden raisins

Mix the oats, sesame seeds and nuts in a large bowl.  Mix the wet ingredients with the brown sugar and the spices in a small bowl.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, mix well and spread onto two cookie sheets. Bake for 40 minutes at 325F stirring halfway through the baking time.

Add raisins when you remove from the oven to cool.

Cap and Orchids

Ruffly Candy Cap

As far as reading goes, I’m thoroughly enjoying Small Steps on the Kindle and studying, most enjoyably, Easy Orchids.  I mentioned last week that my orchids have all of a sudden decided to sprout buds stalks and I am so, so excited about this!  As Mimi Luebbermann says in Easy Orchids,

“Having an orchid rebloom for you is an indescribable pleasure that combines pure satisfaction, one-hundred-percent smug self-congratulation, and awestruck humiliation that you should be so lucky.”

Truer words never spoken!  I’ll try and capture some photos this week of the bud stalks and share them here.  Happy Yarn Along, everyone!!!

