Tags

, ,

Ginny at Small Things is hosting a Yarn Along each week.  Since I’m in one of my knitting phases right now, I thought I’d join in the fun.

True Blue Wrap

True Blue Wrap

Still plugging away at the oh so soft wrap my mother sent as a kit for my Christmas present.  It is getting very long!  Therefore, very close to the end of the knitting phase.  After I cast off it’ll be time to edge all four sides in a pretty shell crochet.  That part is making me a tad nervous!  Excited but nervous.

As for the reading, I returned Jonathan Strange to the library.  I was avoiding it!  It was so big, so heavy.  I had to prop it up on my knees to try and read it.

But!

It is a Kindle download so now I have it in my phone and I can read it any old time.  I do love that Kindle app and the book itself? Gripping.  I’m truly enjoying it!

With both of the wrap and the book being so huge (epic!) I’m really, really thinking of my next project.  I hefted that wrap over to the Chief’s Mess for the football games last Sunday and it was just so *big* and it definitely is too much to pull out and whip through a few rows when I’m car bound waiting for Marianna someplace.

Sooo…

A friend is having a baby later this spring and I’ve been pondering actually knitting a little bitty sweater for her baby girl.  I’ve been pondering this so long, in fact, that #4 over in my sidebar of awesome things I intend to do in 2011 is Knit a Cardigan.

1.  I’m totally in love with this sweater seen here at Posie Gets Cozy and on Ravelry.  All the reviews say it is an easy knit.

2.  Option two would be this Baby Surprise Jacket from Elizabeth Zimmerman that everyone raves about.  I still can hardly believe I found a free copy of the pattern!  Meg Swanson simply asks that a second sweater be knit and donated to a charity near and dear to your heart.  I can agree to those terms!

3.  The third option, the Seamless Kimono Sweater is super darling.

My question to those of you with experience knitting little baby sweaters, do you think one of those three options is better for a girl with no experience knitting a garment?  Or do you have a fool proof pattern to share?  I would really, really appreciate any advice you’d have to offer!

